Tickets Venue Hotel Rotterdam Sponsors Contact
  DutchOpen >> News
 > Home
 > Today
 > News
 > Schedule
 > Draws
 > Players
 > Gallery
 > History

Powered by SquashSite



Dutch Open moves to Rotterdam

The 2009 edition of the Dutch Open Squash Championships will be held in Rotterdam this year and takes place from 24-29 November 2009 at Victoria Squash. This is a result of a partnership that was struck between tournament organizers NextSquash and Rotterdam Topsport to raise the profile of squash in Rotterdam.

Due to the Forexx Women’s World Open Squash 2009 which took place from September 20-27 in the Netherlands, only the men will compete during this year’s Dutch Open. The championship, registered with the Professional Squash Association (PSA) as a 4 Star event, will feature a total prize fund of US$ 40,000, an increase of over thirty percent from last year.

Four-time Dutch champion Laurens Jan Anjema is already looking forward to the tournament on home soil which takes place in five weeks' time. “The Dutch Open has always been a priority in my season and this year won’t be any different,” said the 26-year old who is competing in five more PSA events until the end of the year. “I have played some memorable matches on the centercourt of Victoria in the past and I am determined to play four more later this year.”

Tournament organizers also announced today that Piedro Schweertman has been awarded with the wildcard for the high-profile squash championship in Rotterdam, for the second year in a row, as a result of his good performances during several PSA events on Dutch soil over the 2008/2009 squash season. The 26-year old world number 131 reached the final of the MeerSquashHeroes Open 2009 in Hoofddorp and also made the semi finals of the Q-sourcing Trophy 2008 in Rotterdam.

The final entry list of the Dutch Open Squash 2009 will be announced at the end of October.

The two previous editions of the event, which were both staged in Amsterdam, were won by two-time World Champion David Palmer (2007) and the reigning British Open champion Nick Matthew (2008).